Board of Health Members

In accordance with Public Health Law of Alabama the Jefferson County Department of Health is governed by a local County Board of Health, which is under the general supervision of the State Board of Health.

Jefferson County Board of Health is responsible for overseeing the enforcement of state health laws, the collection of health statistics, and the protection of health and environment in Jefferson County.

The Jefferson County Board of Health is a six member board made up of five members from the Jefferson County Medical Society and the current president of the Jefferson County Commission. Each year one of the five appointed board members rotates out of office and the Jefferson County Medical Society appoints a new member to serve on the Board of Health for a five year term. Board of Health appointees serve as Chairman of the Board in their fourth year.

Max Michael, MD
Dr. Michael is a general internal medicine physician. He is Dean of the UAB School of Public Health and Professor in its Department of Health Care Organization and Policy. Before becoming Dean, he was CEO of Cooper Green Hospital, and prior to that served in several leadership roles at Cooper Green. He is a graduate of Harvard Medical School and completed his Internal Medicine residency at UAB. After residency he was a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Clinical Scholar at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill. He has served on a Ways and Means Health Subcommittee for the U.S. House of Representatives. He was past medical director of Birmingham Health Care for the Homeless.
Commissioner Jimmie Stephens
Commissioner Stephens is President of the Jefferson County Commission. He grew up near Bessemer and graduated from Bessemer High School. He obtained a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration and a Masters of Business Administration from Samford University. He has extensive experience in the grocery business. His past civic leadership experience includes serving on the Bessemer City Council, and multiple local governmental and community boards. He currently serves on the Birmingham Jefferson County Civic Center Authority Board and the Birmingham Business Alliance Board.
Joshua B. Miller, DO
Dr. Miller is a family physician. A native of Birmingham, he graduated from the University of Alabama and the Nova Southeastern College of Osteopathic Medicine in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. He completed his residency training in Family Medicine at St. Vincent’s East. Since then, he has practiced at the Cooper Green Mercy Medical Clinic and Brookwood Primary Care. He currently works for Alegis Care, where he provides health care for homebound people with chronic illnesses via home visits.
Yocunda Clayton, MD
Dr. Clayton is an obstetrician and gynecologist. She is originally from Paterson, New Jersey. She graduated from Spelman College in Atlanta and completed medical school at Rutgers in New Jersey. After completing residency training in Obstetrics and Gynecology in Philadelphia, PA, she joined the medical staff at Cooper Green Hospital in Birmingham as a National Health Service Corps scholar. She now works as a staff physician at several area hospitals. Outside of her regular work, she mentors young girls and participates in foreign medical missions.
Hernando Carter, MD
Dr. Carter is a hospitalist in internal medicine at St. Vincent’s East Hospital, where he currently serves as Chairman of the Department of Medicine. He grew up and graduated from Parker High School. He attended Morehouse College in Atlanta and then UAB School of Medicine. He did his residency training in Birmingham at Carraway Hospital and Baptist Medical Center. He is a founder of the Birmingham Kappa Leadership Development League which mentors young men and the Living and Learning Health Outreach Ministry which addresses health disparities and health literacy.
Sylvie Stacy, MD, MPH
Dr. Stacy received her Medical Doctorate from the University of Massachusetts Medical School and Master of Public Health from the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. She is board certified in preventive medicine and public health. She is employed as Corporate Medical Director with a correctional health care company and serves on the Board of Directors for the National Commission on Correctional Health Care. Her clinical work is centered on care of incarcerated individuals as well as addiction medicine. Her professional interests include utilization management and clinical informatics. With her training, experience and interests, she will be a great addition to our Board.
Central Health Center
(Guy M. Tate)

1400 Sixth Avenue South
Birmingham, AL 35233
Programs and Clinics
(205) 933-9110
Eastern Health Center
601 West Blvd Roebuck
Birmingham, AL 35206
Programs and Clinics
(205) 591-5180
Western Health Center
631 Bessemer Super Hwy
Midfield, AL 35228
Programs and Clinics
(205) 715-6121

Copyright © 2018 Jefferson County Department of Health